Barbary War

The first Barbary War, also known as the Tripolitan War, was fought between the United States and North African countries collectively known as the Barbary States, under the nominal control of the Ottoman Empire. Before independence, the British navy had protected American shipping from attacks by the Barbary states in the Mediterranean Sea. After the Revolution, unacceptable demands from the Barbary States for tribute in return for safe passage, and the capture of American ships and their crews, led to war during Thomas Jefferson's presidency in 1801-05. A second Barbary War in 1815 permanently ended the American practice of paying ransoms to redeem sailors captured by Barbary States.