Intolerable Acts

Also known as the Coercive Acts, these were five pieces of legislation passed by the British Parliament in response to the Boston Tea Party and other colonial resistance to British authority. The five "intolerable" acts were the Boston Port Act, the Massachusetts Government Act, the Administration of Justice Act, the Quartering Act, and the Quebec Act.